WPTF News Plus

Saturday, December 31, 2011

2011 In Everything Else

We take a last glance at 2011 by looking at people and events that we'll follow in the new year, and by remembering those who left us. Gurnal Scott has those stories


MP3 File

2011 In Sports

In North Carolina, the year in sports is usually exciting on the playing surfaces, but in 2011 it was also quite eventful off of them. Gurnal Scott looks back


MP3 File

2011 In Weather

North Carolina saw all kinds of weather and natural occurrences in 2011. Gurnal Scott takes a look at what Mother Nature had in store for us


MP3 File

2011 In Court

The legal process played out in several significant cases in 2011. Gurnal Scott looks back at the trials that made news.


MP3 File

2011 In Politics

2011 was an eventful year on the state political scene. Gurnal Scott takes a look back at the battles in the halls of government


MP3 File

Monday, December 19, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers - 12/18/11

Ran Coble - Executive Director of the NC Center for Public Policy Research


MP3 File

Monday, December 12, 2011

Monday, December 5, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers - 12/4/11

Dr. Mike Munger - Economist and Political Science Professor at Duke University



MP3 File

Monday, November 28, 2011

Monday, November 21, 2011

Monday, November 14, 2011

Monday, November 7, 2011

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Presidential Politics in N.C.

One year remains until Americans cast their ballots for President. Right now, GOP hopefuls are still jockeying for position in the race to face Barack Obama. Gurnal Scott has a look.


MP3 File

Monday, October 31, 2011

Monday, October 24, 2011

WPTF Reports: Real Estate Recovery

Whether you’re trying to sell your home or buy a new one our “must hear” special…WPTF Reports, "Real Estate Recovery" can help. Hear insight and forecasts of what’s going to happen in the real estate world.

Guests:
Dave Ramsey
Phylis Brookshire - Realtor
Mike Morrison - Mortgage Broker
Harvey Schmitt - Greater Raleigh Chamber of Commerce
Rick Sharga - Senior Vice President RealityTrac
Tim Minton - Wake County Builders Association
Peter D'Arruda - Investment Advisor

Topics:
--What homeowners are going through and when will the market see a turn around.

--Homes sales, what's available and how to make a home that is for sale appealing.

--Current mortgage availabilities, what has changed and what you need to know to get a mortgage.

--How employment and unemployment affect our home industry.

--Foreclosures numbers past and future.

--How lower home sales and foreclosures have affected the local building market.

--The affects of lower home values on retirement plans.



MP3 File

Carolina Newsmakers - 10/23/11

Bob Etheridge - Former U.S. Congressman and Special Adviser for Hurricane Irene Recovery Efforts


MP3 File

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Central Prison Hospital Tour

Next month, Central Prison in Raleigh will open its new hospital that will take care of inmates' physical and mental health issues, Gurnal Scott took a tour.


MP3 File

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

"Occupying" the Triangle

The "Occupy Movement" is taking hold across the world and the nation..and even here in the Triangle. Gurnal Scott reports.


MP3 File
The "Occupy Movement" is taking hold across the country and even here in the Triangle. Gurnal Scott reports.


MP3 File

State Fair Vendors

The North Carolina State Fair is a tradition for many families - for others, it's a business that dates back for generations.


MP3 File

Monday, October 17, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers - 10/16/11

Gregg Thompson - North Carolina State Director of the National Federation of Independent Business


MP3 File

Monday, October 10, 2011

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Monday, September 19, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers - 9/18/11

Thom Tillis - Speaker of the North Carolina House of Representatives


MP3 File

Monday, September 12, 2011

Saturday, September 10, 2011

Monday, September 5, 2011

Monday, August 29, 2011

Sunday, August 28, 2011

Hurricane Irene Wrap-Up.

North Carolina's Morning News host Brian Freeman wraps up the damage from and the recovery effort in response to hurricane Irene here in North Carolina and the northeast United States. Special reports from AccuWeather, Gurnal Scott at Kill Devils, NC, Mike Hughes with Progress Energy, Mindy Hamlin from Raleigh-Durham International, Barry Quarters with the American Red Cross and CBS Reporter Steve Futterman in New York.


MP3 File

Monday, August 22, 2011

Monday, August 8, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers 8/7/11

Ran Coble - Executive Director of the North Carolina Center for Public Policy Research


MP3 File

Monday, August 1, 2011

Monday, July 25, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers 7/24/11

Dale Folwell - North Carolina Representative of the 74th District


MP3 File

Monday, July 11, 2011

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Monday, June 20, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers - 6/1/11

Brad Crone - Political Consultant and Founder of Campaign Connections

MP3 File

Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Monday, May 30, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers - 5/29/11

Billy Ray Hall - President of the N.C. Rural Economic Development Center

MP3 File

Monday, May 23, 2011

Monday, May 16, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers - 5/16/11

Gregg Thompson - North Carolina State Director of the National Federation of Independent Business

MP3 File

Monday, May 9, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers - 5/9/11

Justice Robert Orr - Former North Carolina Supreme Court Justice and Executive Director of the North Carolina Institute for Constitutional Law

MP3 File

Monday, April 25, 2011

Monday, April 18, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers - 4/17/11

Ran Coble - Executive Director of the North Carolina Center for Public Policy Research

MP3 File

Monday, April 11, 2011

Monday, April 4, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers - 4/3/11

Dr. Mike Munger - Director of the Joint UNC-Duke Philosophy, Politics, and Economics Program

MP3 File

Monday, March 28, 2011

Monday, March 21, 2011

Monday, March 14, 2011

Monday, February 28, 2011

Monday, February 21, 2011

Monday, February 14, 2011

Monday, January 31, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers - 1/30/11

Ran Coble - Executive Director of the North Carolina Center for Public Policy Research

MP3 File

Monday, January 17, 2011

Monday, January 10, 2011

Carolina Newsmakers - 1/9/11

Representative Thom Tillis - 98th District and Speaker of the House Designate

MP3 File

Monday, January 3, 2011